PDA

View Full Version : What are the best headphones?

jimbnc
May 25th, 2008, 23:25
Can anyone guide me on purchasing a pair of Headphones. What is the most popular set that DJ's use for doing their stuff and just listening to music?...Thanks for any info, Im looking to buy a pair...

jim

berlinpvd
May 26th, 2008, 02:00
try Alessandro they cost around $199

lethalleigh
May 26th, 2008, 15:09
Sennheiser are always good, have clarity so good for monitoring, and depending on which model you get are also comfortable for lengthy music listening!

i have only ever had a pair of Sony MDR-V500, Sennheiser HD280 Pro, and my Technics RDH1200's, i recommend the last 2, Sony was what i started out mixing with, i wouldnt go back to them now

hope this helps :grinning:!

mantisdj
May 31st, 2008, 23:55
Yeah Senheisser's are very reliable and the good thing about them is just about everything on them can be replaced. I have been using the same Sennheiser HD25 SP headphones for the last four years and they still run good as new.

cxcool
Jul 23rd, 2008, 08:44
UE 10.pro

Lazarus
Jul 23rd, 2008, 08:52
Technics RP-DH1200 > Sennheisers :P

http://www.partysound.ro/images/Casti%20DJ%20Technics%20RP-DH1200.jpg

dfx
Jul 23rd, 2008, 08:57
i just ordered myself technics rp-dj1200, the only quality ones i could find with cups small enough to fit over my glasses...

90degrees
Jul 23rd, 2008, 16:45
two different things here, you won't listen to your music casually on cans primarily designed for DJ use as most, e.g. Sony MDR700 (V / R / DJ) put an emphasis on highs which is okay when mixing but far from Hi-Fi. Open cans or closed design for noise cancellation (some with magic circuitry) etc.
Best to try at a guitar shop, audio shop, DJ supplier, but no such thing as "best headphones".
But to give some personal preferences:
DJ use: Allen & Heath XD-53
casual listen: anything Sennheiser

a'ndY
Jul 23rd, 2008, 16:58
Technics RP-DH1200 > Sennheisers :P