PDA

View Full Version : AMD's AM2



jedrekmx
May 26th, 2006, 01:06
For all of you Die-hard AMD fans:

The new socket from AMD is slayed out sometime at the end of this month or begining of June. The benchmarks don't seem very impressive with DDR2 at the moment, but in the future that could change. For a while, I was hearing that AMD was going to skip out on DDR2 since it wouldn't offer much of a performance boost for them, but I guess now they see a market in it.

From what I have read, apparently it's not really worth upgrading to the AM2 socket, unless you have something thats fairly old, or buying a new system. This has to do pretty much with little performance gain with a system using DDR2 800.

I wonder if there would be a benefit if there was 64bit software available. I mean there already are 64bit processors and such, but nothing really that currently utilizes it. I guess its a huge market propoganda to get people to jump on the 64bit bandwagon, sort of like the PCI-Express. I mean PCI-Express is theoretically faster, but I have yet to see a huge perferformance leap for the time being.

Dan
May 26th, 2006, 01:27
I guess we will have to wait and see... everyones comment would be different depending on what they do... I know i need a new LCD, CRT is killing me :(

jedrekmx
May 26th, 2006, 02:03
I think coding in 64bit must take quite sometime. I bet it's a bit more complicated as well. That, and at the moment there isn't reall much demand for those kinds of programs.

HAHA! Sucks to be you. I have an LCD. I am so glad I swithced to one because now there is more room on the desk and its easier to tranport to LANs and stuff. Make sure to get at least a 8ms LCD if you do get one. I like my 19" LCD.

DreamensioN
May 26th, 2006, 16:07
I'll be upgrading my desktop PC later this year. The one I have is getting on a bit, and can't really handle the audio processing I do.

I have a work laptop that I use for my mixing...it's a Toshiba Tecra M3.

I'm really looking forward to upgrading to 64bit - and getting some serious crunching power.

jedrekmx
May 26th, 2006, 23:52
What kind of specs in your machince? Do you have a wack load of ram?

DreamensioN
May 28th, 2006, 05:00
Yeah on the laptop I have 2Gb of ram.

My desktop has 512mb of ram - which is still enough to do mixing etc... but when I actually do the recordings I always use the laptop. The desktop is ok just for practising etc.

If I was every to do a live performance - it'd be on the laptop for sure.

minc
May 28th, 2006, 19:46
i need to get an lcd as well... this crt is taking up too much space... its a good crt... but yeah...

jedrekmx
May 30th, 2006, 02:14
philips has a 4 year or 5 year manufacture warranty FYI if you are looking to get an LCD. I love my 19" Philips.

YEah Laptop are so much easier to carry around especially if you DJ. What kind laptop?

Jorda
May 30th, 2006, 02:46
philips has a 4 year or 5 year manufacture warranty FYI if you are looking to get an LCD. I love my 19" Philips.

YEah Laptop are so much easier to carry around especially if you DJ. What kind laptop?

I got a Gateway 21" Widescreen LCD - http://accessories.gateway.com/AccessoryStore/PC+Accessories_316441/Monitors_316684/LCD+_Q1_Flat+Panel_Q1_+Monitors_316694/20_D1_21+inch+LCD_381955/1534243_ProdDetail

8 ms, it's a brand new PC I bought last month. I had to buy this LCD screen seperately though. It was a rough $799.99 |:-/... worth every bit of it though. I can turn this shit in any angle I want, it's pretty chill dude. :D

jedrekmx
May 30th, 2006, 03:31
I got a Gateway 21" Widescreen LCD - http://accessories.gateway.com/AccessoryStore/PC+Accessories_316441/Monitors_316684/LCD+_Q1_Flat+Panel_Q1_+Monitors_316694/20_D1_21+inch+LCD_381955/1534243_ProdDetail

8 ms, it's a brand new PC I bought last month. I had to buy this LCD screen seperately though. It was a rough $799.99 |:-/... worth every bit of it though. I can turn this shit in any angle I want, it's pretty chill dude. :D

That's insane! 21 inches is huge! :D I still couldn't justify spending that much on an LCD, but eveyrone has a different budget and needs. :P

So did you get a gateway desktop pc?

Jorda
May 30th, 2006, 05:26
That's insane! 21 inches is huge! :D I still couldn't justify spending that much on an LCD, but eveyrone has a different budget and needs. :P

So did you get a gateway desktop pc?

No Gateway Desktop PC.


HP Desktop PC
Pentium D 930 (Dual Processing Cores) (Viiv Chipset, latest chipset out right now)
3.2 Ghz
2 GB RAM
300 GB SATA Hard Drive
Wireless Keyboard/Mouse
nVidia GeForce 7900 GTX Graphic Card (w/ 4 GPU's)

jedrekmx
May 30th, 2006, 16:39
No Gateway Desktop PC.


HP Desktop PC
Pentium D 930 (Dual Processing Cores) (Viiv Chipset, latest chipset out right now)
3.2 Ghz
2 GB RAM
300 GB SATA Hard Drive
Wireless Keyboard/Mouse
nVidia GeForce 7900 GTX Graphic Card (w/ 4 GPU's)


Sweet man. 4 GPUs???? You game or something?

Jorda
May 30th, 2006, 21:10
No double posting biatch, :P. Anyway, yeah I game once in a while when I have time - explains why. ;)

jedrekmx
May 30th, 2006, 23:29
I didn't realize I double posted. Are you running SLI or something?

Jorda
May 31st, 2006, 19:45
I didn't realize I double posted. Are you running SLI or something?

No problem. And yeah, I'm running SLI for the GeForce 7900 GTX (Quad SLI). It's awesome man, I can play any game on the Ultimate Quality settings. Even F.E.A.R, but some games are just too high quality, like EverQuest 2.

You'd only be able to play EQ2 on Ultimate Quality only with Windows Vista, because it has DirectX 10 which supports amazing shading and more features. But thats not a problem. At least I can play games really smooth, F.E.A.R is my favourite because of it's awesome gfx. :)

jedrekmx
Jun 1st, 2006, 00:04
That's sweet. I guess ATI has a new beast in the making... the R600 with unified shader architecture. 64 shader processors! That sucker probably produces a fair bit of heat and requires a power station to power it. It's sick how much juice systems are going to need for future hardware. Crazy how much computer technology has advanced in the past few years let alone the last 10 or more.

And with all do respect, I am in no hurry to get Windows Vista. Quite honestly I am not impressed with the delays, the system requirements that one will need to run it (no way in hell I am going to go out and get specific parts just to be able to run Vista properly - I just spent over a grand on upgrading to a 64 with some nice toys just at the start of the year) and why bother upgrading when windows XP Pro has run stable for me since the beta before the release. I honestly think upgrading to vista is asking for trouble - playing with unnecssary fire.

What I do want to see is how fast it will be cracked/hacked and what the percentage of piracy will be. Windows XP set a high record and rumour has it that Vista will be setting an all time record.

Jorda
Jun 1st, 2006, 02:59
That's sweet. I guess ATI has a new beast in the making... the R600 with unified shader architecture. 64 shader processors! That sucker probably produces a fair bit of heat and requires a power station to power it. It's sick how much juice systems are going to need for future hardware. Crazy how much computer technology has advanced in the past few years let alone the last 10 or more.

And with all do respect, I am in no hurry to get Windows Vista. Quite honestly I am not impressed with the delays, the system requirements that one will need to run it (no way in hell I am going to go out and get specific parts just to be able to run Vista properly - I just spent over a grand on upgrading to a 64 with some nice toys just at the start of the year) and why bother upgrading when windows XP Pro has run stable for me since the beta before the release. I honestly think upgrading to vista is asking for trouble - playing with unnecssary fire.

What I do want to see is how fast it will be cracked/hacked and what the percentage of piracy will be. Windows XP set a high record and rumour has it that Vista will be setting an all time record.

Yeah thats definately positive. Although, Vista has nice features, I agree with you that you'd need a really good computer to run the OS equitably; I think it's worth a try and see what the results are anyway.

A new ATI card now, eh? Can you link me up with some enlightment on that? It'd be a little too crazy for ATI to release yet another graphic card. Blood hell, I thought the X1900 XT and the 7900 GTX were good enough, if another comes out... I'm not going to waste my money on it. 7900 GTX is a bit more then a usual graphic card out there (like the GeForce 6800).

Back to Windows Vista. Yes. An application cracking group, (like PARADOX, RENEGaDE, WinBETA, etc.), will definately crack the visual library in a matter of days. Some of the dudes in cracking groups are guru's it's not even funny. We'll see what happens. If Vista does get cracked then I'll be downloading it most likely. If not, I'd buy it anyway because the price isn't too high up the charts for me. It's worth a try, no? :P


Here's the list of versions for Windows Vista:

Windows Vista Home (for home use)
Windows Vista Professional (for gaming)
Windows Vista Ultimate (for developers, such as programmers, and game developers. Also gaming)

I'm going for the Ultimate version because I program a bit and I also
play games when I have some time. It's about $699.99, thats not too bad. I'm hoping that it gets cracked though. Muahahaha! Although, I don't really have too much time to program and play games, I'm with music and DJing every hour/day (just an expression), lol. Whatever, we'll see. If it's good for producing aswell then it's mine! :)

jedrekmx
Jun 2nd, 2006, 03:26
Bah, I just lost my post, and for the moment I don't want to re-think what I posted. So here is the link for the new ATI card that they have in plan for when Vista comes out or later:

http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/video/display/20060525104243.html

It's going to be a beast that requires a whole helluvalot of power.

Jorda
Jun 3rd, 2006, 01:25
I think I'm going to buy the Nvidia GeForce G80. That thing is unreal, wow... And when Vista comes out with DirectX 10, the GeForce G80 and DX10 combined will absolutely rip every game out there. We will get to play any high-end graphic game at it's top settings, smoothly. :)

Thanks for the info man, thats something else right there man.

jedrekmx
Jun 3rd, 2006, 07:15
Oh for sure. I just love ATI not only because they are a candian company, but so far I have not had any problems with their products. I haven't turned back since I moved from a GF4 Ti4600 to a 9800 Pro, then to a x850 pro that can be pushed to a x850 XT PE. It's nice that both Nvidia and ATI are around because there is competition and that drives the prices down.

The G80 os sick, and I am curious how the newest TOP ATI will match up with the TOP Nvidia.

Sounds like you have money to burn! :P If you're considering a G80 and you just got the 7900 GTX's in SLI!

Jorda
Jun 3rd, 2006, 07:51
Thats true, but I think the G80 will dominate the 7900 GTX in Quad SLI - and, it's only one card! But really, I think nVidia is beating ATI by a partial amount.

I remember a site that I browsed a while ago, showing a GeForce 7900 GTX vs. Radeon 1900 XTX chart - they both showed equal settings but the nVidia beat it with it's Core clock speed and some other stuff. The ATI beat it by something that I can't remember quite well.


*EDIT* Oh! What a coincidence, I found it - http://sg.vr-zone.com/index.php?i=3335

Take a look at the differences. :)

jedrekmx
Jun 4th, 2006, 20:21
Yeah, really close depending on the game and settings. The competition is great since the end user is the winner and makes their choice based of performance even price.

Thanks for the link. :cheers:

I am curious if unified pixel processing will give ATI the edge and how GDDR4 will improve card performace. Will it be substantial or what?

Jorda
Jun 5th, 2006, 10:45
Yeah, really close depending on the game and settings. The competition is great since the end user is the winner and makes their choice based of performance even price.

Thanks for the link. :cheers:

I am curious if unified pixel processing will give ATI the edge and how GDDR4 will improve card performace. Will it be substantial or what?

It may vary, although it does not matter if the 1900 XTX has more Pixel Processing than the 7900 GTx; it depends on the whole performance it's self. And I think that the GDDR4 will improve it's performance big time, because if a card has more memory then you will get more FPS then usual.

Memory is a big importance for graphic cards, believe me on that one. If I bought a card with approximately 2 GB of memory, and attempted to make a hardcore 3D character in Maya, it would render smoothly without any conflict.

jedrekmx
Jun 5th, 2006, 23:39
Yeah, I am wondering what is going to be new about GDDR4. Probably more dense with better frequencies and timings. I guess the new standard will be 512 with the new memory. There's talks of new memory that is supposed to be much cheaper to produce and is much denser then DDR2. I think its the next level of DDR, just not sure of the name of it. I read an article bout it, but I can't remember much about it or where I found it.

There is a lot more then just pixel processors that make the card good. Like how efficient the prefetch is, whether there's two way traffic for processing or not, amount of ram, the bus and a ton of other things.

I think it's a combination of many things that dictate how well a system does. It's not just how much ram you have on the video card, but as well how much system memory you have, your processing power (speed matters to an extent), system buses (spelling?), the chipset and even your hardrive speed matters. I have a raptor drive and its amazing how much faster programs and software loads on it. I end up in games alot faster because of it.

Jorda
Jun 6th, 2006, 07:35
Yeah, I am wondering what is going to be new about GDDR4. Probably more dense with better frequencies and timings. I guess the new standard will be 512 with the new memory. There's talks of new memory that is supposed to be much cheaper to produce and is much denser then DDR2. I think its the next level of DDR, just not sure of the name of it. I read an article bout it, but I can't remember much about it or where I found it.

There is a lot more then just pixel processors that make the card good. Like how efficient the prefetch is, whether there's two way traffic for processing or not, amount of ram, the bus and a ton of other things.

I think it's a combination of many things that dictate how well a system does. It's not just how much ram you have on the video card, but as well how much system memory you have, your processing power (speed matters to an extent), system buses (spelling?), the chipset and even your hardrive speed matters. I have a raptor drive and its amazing how much faster programs and software loads on it. I end up in games alot faster because of it.

Yep, it does depend on your other specifications on your PC. I agree with you on that, it also speeds up your gaming stability. It's important to have a good computer when you are running an intense graphic card that needs a great deal of power, from the core to the mem.

But I definitley cannot wait until those cards get released. They look awesome, the money looks awesome as well (sarcasm). X0

jedrekmx
Jun 7th, 2006, 01:50
I am scared to find out what kind of power supplies these cards are going to need. I mean quad cores aren't to far off, some really insane video cards are around the corner and it seems like there is no end to it.

Seeshhhh! Quad SLI, with quad cores, a few peripherals and man you need your own personal power station. It's insane how much power things are using now a days.

I don't know if you have heard, but there is power supply that they sell seperately to power a video card. I think they were saying something like 300 watts of power just to power a video card independently. I can begin to imagine how big of a case you are going to need let alone it get's me wondering about cooling.

How hot does your system run with the configuration that you have?

Jorda
Jun 7th, 2006, 22:32
I am scared to find out what kind of power supplies these cards are going to need. I mean quad cores aren't to far off, some really insane video cards are around the corner and it seems like there is no end to it.

Seeshhhh! Quad SLI, with quad cores, a few peripherals and man you need your own personal power station. It's insane how much power things are using now a days.

I don't know if you have heard, but there is power supply that they sell seperately to power a video card. I think they were saying something like 300 watts of power just to power a video card independently. I can begin to imagine how big of a case you are going to need let alone it get's me wondering about cooling.

How hot does your system run with the configuration that you have?

My PC temp is fine, my video card temp is around 40C-49C. The card has a fan on it, which gives it very good cooling. And yeah, your power supply can cause your card to heat up if you don't have a powerful one, but really, you don't need the best power supply to run a video card. Unless your card is more then 1 GB of GDDR...

jedrekmx
Jun 7th, 2006, 22:41
True enough, but I have been always told to run a good power supply. Never some no name brand or not enough power. You'll never know when you could end up damaging precious components in your computer.

I can't believe how Microsoft is making windows vista far more complicated with the several versions they are releasing. I had a tough time myself figuring out if I was better off with Windows XP Pro features or Windows home features. Now there's what 8 versions of it? Man I seriously think its ridiculous since they will end up confusing the hell out of a lot of people. Some people might even end up with something that they did not want and will not get their money back for. That is one reason why I think the new version will be pirated. AS well the price will be a factor and their new security of not being able to rip HD video. I am still not sure if they are implementing something that will not allow you to install pirated software. I know there have been rumours and such, but I am not sure if it has been confirmed or what. On top of all that, it has been 6 years now since the release of windows xp? And they just delayed it yet again to the start of 2007 because they wanted to make sure that they release a quality product? I think that's a bunch of non sense because no matter what they do there will be flaws and bugs and no matter how long they delay it I dont think they will come out with a better product because of that delay. I may try it, but if it requires me to upgrade to better hardware, then ill be damned if I upgrade to it anytime soon.

Jorda
Jun 8th, 2006, 04:22
True enough, but I have been always told to run a good power supply. Never some no name brand or not enough power. You'll never know when you could end up damaging precious components in your computer.

I can't believe how Microsoft is making windows vista far more complicated with the several versions they are releasing. I had a tough time myself figuring out if I was better off with Windows XP Pro features or Windows home features. Now there's what 8 versions of it? Man I seriously think its ridiculous since they will end up confusing the hell out of a lot of people. Some people might even end up with something that they did not want and will not get their money back for. That is one reason why I think the new version will be pirated. AS well the price will be a factor and their new security of not being able to rip HD video. I am still not sure if they are implementing something that will not allow you to install pirated software. I know there have been rumours and such, but I am not sure if it has been confirmed or what. On top of all that, it has been 6 years now since the release of windows xp? And they just delayed it yet again to the start of 2007 because they wanted to make sure that they release a quality product? I think that's a bunch of non sense because no matter what they do there will be flaws and bugs and no matter how long they delay it I dont think they will come out with a better product because of that delay. I may try it, but if it requires me to upgrade to better hardware, then ill be damned if I upgrade to it anytime soon.

Yeah, I highly agree with you about upgrading tp Vista. But as you can see, I do not think I need any upgrades on hardware for my PC at the moment. Although, Vista can cause a big problem if you don't meet it's requirements; it's funny that they delayed the release - I agree with you. It's quite amusing about them specific stating about Vista will have absolutely no bugs in it after they have released it in 2007 - yeah, my ass... I doubt it.

Anyway, I'm going to stop chit chatting about this now, we are making this thread into a bloody chat room, for god's sake! Haha... take care buddy, and don't forget to listen to a new episode of my weekly radio show Rising Energy, this Saturday at 4:00 PM to 5:00 PM (EST). I have some nice stuff this week, I don't want you to miss anymore shows! Rawr! :ciao:


Cheers m8. :redmoon:

jedrekmx
Jun 10th, 2006, 06:48
Yeah, I highly agree with you about upgrading tp Vista. But as you can see, I do not think I need any upgrades on hardware for my PC at the moment. Although, Vista can cause a big problem if you don't meet it's requirements; it's funny that they delayed the release - I agree with you. It's quite amusing about them specific stating about Vista will have absolutely no bugs in it after they have released it in 2007 - yeah, my ass... I doubt it.

Anyway, I'm going to stop chit chatting about this now, we are making this thread into a bloody chat room, for god's sake! Haha... take care buddy, and don't forget to listen to a new episode of my weekly radio show Rising Energy, this Saturday at 4:00 PM to 5:00 PM (EST). I have some nice stuff this week, I don't want you to miss anymore shows! Rawr! :ciao:


Cheers m8. :redmoon:

Awww, well you suck! :noob: :P

Instead of chatting on here, we could chat on msn if you have it. pm me your email. :D

jedrekmx
Jun 11th, 2006, 08:43
That's if you have msn and dont mind me adding you.