What are the best headphones?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jimbnc

Registered
Reaction score
Can anyone guide me on purchasing a pair of Headphones. What is the most popular set that DJ's use for doing their stuff and just listening to music?...Thanks for any info, Im looking to buy a pair...

jim

Sennheiser are always good, have clarity so good for monitoring, and depending on which model you get are also comfortable for lengthy music listening!

i have only ever had a pair of Sony MDR-V500, Sennheiser HD280 Pro, and my Technics RDH1200's, i recommend the last 2, Sony was what i started out mixing with, i wouldnt go back to them now

hope this helps :grinning:!

Yeah Senheisser's are very reliable and the good thing about them is just about everything on them can be replaced. I have been using the same Sennheiser HD25 SP headphones for the last four years and they still run good as new.

Technics RP-DH1200 > Sennheisers :p

Casti%20DJ%20Technics%20RP-DH1200.jpg

i just ordered myself technics rp-dj1200, the only quality ones i could find with cups small enough to fit over my glasses...

two different things here, you won't listen to your music casually on cans primarily designed for DJ use as most, e.g. Sony MDR700 (V / R / DJ) put an emphasis on highs which is okay when mixing but far from Hi-Fi. Open cans or closed design for noise cancellation (some with magic circuitry) etc.
Best to try at a guitar shop, audio shop, DJ supplier, but no such thing as "best headphones".
But to give some personal preferences:
DJ use: Allen & Heath XD-53
casual listen: anything Sennheiser

Last edited:
the new denon pair
they easily destroy my hd 650's !

I recently upgraded to a set of Pioneer HDJ-1000s and am really happy with them allthough they have their pros and cons of course, as with anything.

http://www.copystars.com/images_products/pioneer_hdj_1000_s8395.jpg