Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Constantly re Buffering.

  1. #1

    Constantly re Buffering.

    Nothing else is running and AH sounds like a bad CD.
    Thisismychurch

  2. #2
    AH.FM Addict t4e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    18,387
    i know it was hours ago you posted this, but do you still having problems?
    Your signature contains too many lines and must be shortened.

  3. #3
    AHddicted! Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    19,221
    Quote Originally Posted by Vertigo View Post
    Nothing else is running and AH sounds like a bad CD.
    what server were you connected to ?
    Most listened to Trance Radio - AH.FM
    Love AH.FM? become today.

  4. #4
    i was connected to the .ca

    it has settled but occasionally, ahh just did it. lol
    Thisismychurch

  5. #5
    AHddicted! Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    19,221
    might be your route from shaw... i used to work for shaw and their routing is really bad
    Most listened to Trance Radio - AH.FM
    Love AH.FM? become today.

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Dan View Post
    might be your route from shaw... i used to work for shaw and their routing is really bad
    Damn Shaw!
    Thisismychurch

  7. #7
    AH.FM Addict Tarek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    1,981
    Sorry for reviving an old thread..but just to help whoever MIGHT have the same problem in the future, if you look in the playlist (ie: In winamp) , you will see a short list of different bitrated hosts, just try them and see if you get a smoother experience.

  8. #8
    AHddicted! Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    19,221
    Quote Originally Posted by Tarek View Post
    Sorry for reviving an old thread..but just to help whoever MIGHT have the same problem in the future, if you look in the playlist (ie: In winamp) , you will see a short list of different bitrated hosts, just try them and see if you get a smoother experience.

    AH.FM system automatically chooses best closest possible server for you, if servers are in a bad state they are removed temporarily from the list.

    We monitor them non stop so, it should be smooth
    Most listened to Trance Radio - AH.FM
    Love AH.FM? become today.

  9. #9
    AH.FM Addict Tarek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    1,981
    That's weird..because sometimes I pause the stream for a few minutes..put it back on again. It plays what should've came after I stopped it..then it rebuffers to the correct time, but when it does, the actual playing is very choppy, so I just close my eyes and double click on another server.

    Maybe its just me

  10. #10
    what player you using?

    pausing usually isn't really a good idea, would only work right if the player still keeps streaming the audio and buffers it, then plays back from the buffer when you resume. kinda like time shifting in TV. don't think any players really do that. so it's usually better to just press stop instead of pause.
    http://dfx.at/sets/ :: http://myspace.com/dfx_dj

  11. #11
    AH.FM Addict DhumKetu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    India
    Posts
    5,573
    Quote Originally Posted by dfx View Post
    what player you using?

    pausing usually isn't really a good idea, would only work right if the player still keeps streaming the audio and buffers it, then plays back from the buffer when you resume. kinda like time shifting in TV. don't think any players really do that. so it's usually better to just press stop instead of pause.
    WinAmp does it for me .... for about 2 minute or so in the 48kbps stream.

    But yes, it is better to press stop than pause.
    DONT DRINK AND DRIVE

  12. #12
    AHddicted! Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    19,221
    Quote Originally Posted by Tarek View Post
    That's weird..because sometimes I pause the stream for a few minutes..put it back on again. It plays what should've came after I stopped it..then it rebuffers to the correct time, but when it does, the actual playing is very choppy, so I just close my eyes and double click on another server.

    Maybe its just me

    if your in canada, you should be using canadian server.
    http://www.ah.fm/192k.m3u

    you should have no issues.
    Most listened to Trance Radio - AH.FM
    Love AH.FM? become today.

  13. #13
    AH.FM Addict Tarek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    1,981
    Lol guys dont get too worked up about it. If something does happen I'm quite a bit experienced in these matters to know how to fix them, unless they come from your side, which has never happened as long as I've been here.

    Until then, keep on trancing!

  14. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by DhumKetu View Post
    WinAmp does it for me .... for about 2 minute or so in the 48kbps stream.
    i don't think that's actually winamp doing that though, more like the TCP buffer and the buffer on shoutcast's side. does it for all formats, but a lot more time fits into the (fixed size) buffers on the lower bitrate streams of course.
    http://dfx.at/sets/ :: http://myspace.com/dfx_dj

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Buffering Problems?
    By Abominus in forum Help & Support | Feedback
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: May 7th, 2008, 02:11
  2. Buffering issues a few nights ago..
    By DreamensioN in forum Help & Support | Feedback
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: Jun 18th, 2006, 20:16

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •