Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: Making a mix

  1. #1
    AH FAN Paradoxem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    159

    Making a mix

    Hi.

    I've been asked to try to make a trance mix, just like you afterhours DJ's makes them. I was just wondering, what you use? Programs, equipment and etc. I was thinking about making the mix in Virtual DJ or something like that. Now I know, that doing that isn't so popular amongst you pro's, but I guess it's possible to do it that way, right?

    Any help appreciated

  2. #2
    AH.FM Addict t4e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    18,387
    http://forum.ah.fm/music-discussion/...-hardware.html


    Good Luck!!!!

    and never mind what people think is popular or not, as long as its a well mixed set, who cares if you used software or hardware?....besides, the PRO's are using software themselves too
    Your signature contains too many lines and must be shortened.

  3. #3
    AH.FM Addict Junior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    17,107
    Quote Originally Posted by t4e View Post
    http://forum.ah.fm/music-discussion/...-hardware.html


    Good Luck!!!!

    and never mind what people think is popular or not, as long as its a well mixed set, who cares if you used software or hardware?....besides, the PRO's are using software themselves too
    i use half and half. i use the hardware to mix, but the software to play the tracks. but i have to beat match and pitch up/down tracks for that. software is just so that i can play the tracks and record. and wich ive done a small gig at a friends party like that. almost looked professional

  4. #4
    AH.FM Addict t4e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    18,387
    Quote Originally Posted by Junior View Post
    i use half and half. i use the hardware to mix, but the software to play the tracks. but i have to beat match and pitch up/down tracks for that. software is just so that i can play the tracks and record. and wich ive done a small gig at a friends party like that. almost looked professional


    when mixing with software if you don't wanna look like you're opening emails you can get a midi-controller, i got one as an early b-day present


    Hercules DJ Console Mk2 (MkII), a revolutionary complete portable DJ controller, Mixer and USB audio interface for desktop/laptop PCs with no match in the worldwide market.
    Your signature contains too many lines and must be shortened.

  5. #5
    AH.FM Addict Junior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    17,107
    Quote Originally Posted by t4e View Post
    when mixing with software if you don't wanna look like you're opening emails you can get a midi-controller, i got one as an early b-day present


    Hercules DJ Console Mk2 (MkII), a revolutionary complete portable DJ controller, Mixer and USB audio interface for desktop/laptop PCs with no match in the worldwide market.
    beautiful. but i went cheaper
    M-AUDIO - X-Session Pro - USB MIDI DJ Mixer Controller all you needis one usb cable and laptop, but i used my cousins i dont have one just desktop.
    but when i get my financial aid money from college if im lucky i might feast myself on this a prety good price for my poornes.
    Last edited by Junior; Sep 4th, 2009 at 06:12.

  6. #6
    AH FAN Paradoxem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Gender
    Male
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    159
    Thanks! I will definitely have a look at that link. And maybe also that midi mixer. Looks sweet considering the price

  7. #7
    AH.FM Addict t4e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    18,387
    Quote Originally Posted by Junior View Post
    beautiful. but i went cheaper
    M-AUDIO - X-Session Pro - USB MIDI DJ Mixer Controller all you needis one usb cable and laptop, but i used my cousins i dont have one just desktop.
    but when i get my financial aid money from college if im lucky i might feast myself on this a prety good price for my poornes.

    the one you got its cheaper but doesn't work with VDj , and mine is USB too
    Your signature contains too many lines and must be shortened.

  8. #8
    actually the m-audio one does work with vdj (as does everything else that sends MIDI signals), but it lacks some of the most important tools for the dj: the jog wheels
    http://dfx.at/sets/ :: http://myspace.com/dfx_dj

  9. #9
    AH.FM Addict Raffi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    1,013
    If you don't have the hardware, you can always mix on software such as 'Audacity' no problem as long as it sounds good.
    If you do have a dj deck, then it's better to do the set on it so that you get used to it more. It will be like a practice
    cheers
    If you like our work, please vote for us on The DJ List:friends: Thank you!

    Facebook, Twitter, Youtube

  10. #10
    AH Listener
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    98
    I've got the Gemini CDJ-3600 in Junior's post, and I have to say I have mixed feelings about the unit. Really can't complain about the price, but with the price comes some sacrifices.
    My biggest complaint is the pitch control, the very first step from 0 is +/- 0.7%. After that you can get 0.1% increments but not easily. Sometimes the pitch skips between two adjacent values (for example 0.7 and 0.8), almost like if you hold a light switch halfway on the light flickers on and off.
    The cue and play/pause buttons are soft button, and I find them to be a bit unresponsive. If you tap the cue button any faster than about 1 press per second it doesn't respond to some of them. Basically you can't do what you can do with the cue button on Pioneer CDJ's for example.
    These complaints aside, it's still unbelieveably good value for what you get and will definitely be good if you just want something cheap to start off.

  11. #11
    AH.FM Addict Raffi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    1,013
    Quote Originally Posted by MMJA View Post
    I've got the Gemini CDJ-3600 in Junior's post, and I have to say I have mixed feelings about the unit. Really can't complain about the price, but with the price comes some sacrifices.
    My biggest complaint is the pitch control, the very first step from 0 is +/- 0.7%. After that you can get 0.1% increments but not easily. Sometimes the pitch skips between two adjacent values (for example 0.7 and 0.8), almost like if you hold a light switch halfway on the light flickers on and off.
    The cue and play/pause buttons are soft button, and I find them to be a bit unresponsive. If you tap the cue button any faster than about 1 press per second it doesn't respond to some of them. Basically you can't do what you can do with the cue button on Pioneer CDJ's for example.
    These complaints aside, it's still unbelieveably good value for what you get and will definitely be good if you just want something cheap to start off.
    hey MMJA another problem is you can't bring the tempo precisely. Don't know about the Gemini CDJ-3600 much; but the Pioneer CDJ 100 has this problem. For instance if you want to increase the bpm 1 degree, then +0.7 on the tempo has a lag & +0.8 is a bit faster. You must play on the jog wheel or the tempo during the mix
    As you said, "but with the price comes some sacrifices."

    Cheers!
    Last edited by Raffi; Oct 14th, 2009 at 19:14.
    If you like our work, please vote for us on The DJ List:friends: Thank you!

    Facebook, Twitter, Youtube

  12. #12
    Just got here
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4
    I didn't read through all of the replies, but you can download the Beatport player for free. While it does a good job generating play list and can automatic beat match, there is no record function available. I'm sure there is some way around this software wise, if not, hooking up an external CD recorder might work for recording.

  13. #13
    AH Listener akosm5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    41
    Hi All!

    Is there any possibility to mix in Winamp? If yes, please let me know how.
    There are a lot of posts and write ups about this but nothing useful and correct informations or real answers can be found among them! So, please try to help me. I think it is a quite simple question, isn't it? :-)

  14. #14
    I tried to mix in winamp but it's not possilbe, the program doesn't support bpm features or syncing. Try with AIMP player... it could work.

    I drifted between imagination and reality...

  15. #15
    AH Listener akosm5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    41
    Quote Originally Posted by TSProject View Post
    I tried to mix in winamp but it's not possilbe, the program doesn't support bpm features or syncing. Try with AIMP player... it could work.


    Thank you for the answer!
    Are you sure? :-) As I know it is possible to make mixes in Winamp. Just one small information, what is the "toggle crossfading between tracks" button in Winamp???

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Making Music with Tritonal & Cristina Soto
    By Tritonal in forum Music Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 26th, 2010, 18:24

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •