(Forthcoming through Black Hole Recordings, May 21st, 2012)

"Touchstone was recorded with at least one ear on the at-home listen. 'Pure' though is constructed predominantly for the club."
Those on the hunt for the album's 'Seven Cities'/'4Ever'/'Touchstone' moment won't need to look any further than'Fireisland'. Co-produced with Egypt's Aly & Fila, from the opening throb of its bass guitar and shimmering Med-head melodies, it works in Spanish guitar flecks and sun-kissed synths. On 'Falcons' meanwhile,Solarstone is sharing studio space with Italy's Giuseppe Ottaviani, with the pair conjuring a seismic, uprush-ing number. With its calling female harmonies, breath-stealing synths and high-end horsepower production, 'Falcons' is pure trance served by the shot glass. Back in solo mode, on 'Please', Solarstone doesn't back off the throttle for a second, creating a floor flamer that features the spoken vocal musings of a certain well-known 60s rock poet.
Where the drums drop out of the album, 'Pure' begins to move in more introspective directions. Backed by his sparse breakbeats and live strings, on 'Where Do We Go From Here' Richard duets with Betsie Larkin, for a raw, real and emotive vocal two-hander. Set against the mellow drama of chilled, beat-free ambience, 'Swansong'- the album's fittingly titled closing track - sees Hannah Magenta's heavenly choral refrain cut deep.
Solo, with vocalists old and new, and alongside heavyweight production collaborators, 'Pure' is album title and mission statement rolled into one. Taking its producer back to his grass roots, in the process he has distilled its sound. This is pure trance and 'Pure' Solarstone.
01: Pure
02: Jewel (with Clare Stagg)
03: Shake The Demons (with Bill McGruddy)
04: Voyager
05: Where Do We Go From Here (with Betsie Larkin)
06: Fireisland (with Aly&Fila)
07: Requiem (with Clare Stagg)
08: Falcons (with Giuseppe Ottaviani)
09: Please
10: The Spell (with Clare Stagg)
11: Lovers
12: Presence Of The Past
13: Swansong (with Hannah Magenta)

Pre Order: